Pulse Pulse Pulse (Part 1)

2-24

So…anybody still around? I know, I know, I’m 3000 and late. I told you guys I will post something soon and soon happens to be 3 weeks late. I know, I know, I feel bad too. I want to say I have a legit excuse for not posting but not really. I was just lazy and summer is around the corner. But I’m here now! I’m planning to update as often as I can, so we don’t feel so bored without Fluttering Feelings around.

Like I said before, I’ve been reading Pulse lately and so I was thinking maybe I can do a review for it like I did for Fluttering Feelings. So Pulse is created by a Thai manga artist, she goes by a name of Ratana Satis, this I don’t know if it’s her real name or not. From what I know, Pulse is not her first creation, I remembered she also has another comic that was out that was also yuri and it’s called ‘Lily Love’. So you guys can check that out as well.

Here’s the direct synopsis from Lezhin website in what the story is about so you guys can have a background.

Mel, a renowned heart surgeon, lives a carefree life with sex being a tool for joy rather than a show of affection. Then she meets someone that turns her view of love and life upside down. This story is about two people that meet with minimal expectations but soon become enthralled in a relationship that changes everything about themselves.

Before I get started I just want to say this ain’t going to be something lovely dovey Fluttering Feelings that 13 years old girl can read, this shit is made for adult but knowing people, little children will want to read it too. So for the review of this story, I will omit out all the sex scenes. Too bad.

Anyway, same as FF, I will like to pay tributes and give credits where they are due. First off, thank you Ratana Satis for blessing us with this great comic, which I’m sure we’ll spend countless of hours reading and fangirling over the 2 characters. I also want to thank the translators and staffs for doing an awesome job. You can read this on Lezhin or if you’re smart you will find some way to read it for free but I’m not promoting it here.

Okay, let’s get started.

Oh, did I mention that this is a yuri? Well, it is.

Spoiler Alert!!!!

1-1

Alright Pulsies, let’s get started!

Okay, we’re starting off with some scientific facts.

1-4

Okayyy, now we’re seeing some gory stuffs as well. Should I prepare myself for this story. I feel like I’m going to see a lot of blood from this.

1-5

Well this is definitely not the heart I will picture when I think of love…

1-6

Wowww, that’s our main character from this story. Not bad at all. I will give her an 8.

1-7

And look she already got herself a fangirl.

1-8

No kidding, look at those damn eyelashes. Sexiii

Oh, a player and a doctor? I can work with this combo.

1-11

How come I’m getting a vibe from this glasses chick that she sounds jealous? And what she means by ‘she’s a lesbian so she isn’t into serious relationships?’ 1) That’s sound mean. 2) That doesn’t even make sense. So because she’s a lesbian she can’t be serious? Is this glasses chick serious?
1-12

I think I need to get my tissues ready.

Why does it looks like she’s about to murder someone? Anyway, look another chick!

Cut right to the chase, that’s my type of girl.

So, anyway, they did the thing. Read that on your own or imagine in your head. Just imagine it really hotly.

1-17

1-18

1-19

Having sex in workplace, I don’t know how I feel about it but it’s on my bucket list.
1-20

Oh gosh, more facts.

1-21

Oh, look a girl with a ribbon.

Anyway, this Mel girl is a player, a very hot player but aren’t all players hot. I don’t think I ever come across any player that is ugly.

1-24

Wait, why are we talking about hunting now?

1-25

Oh yeah, hunting for her prey. She found it.

2-1

2-2

This is nothing like Fluttering Feelings. Nothing.

A morning after sex and she still looks gorgeous. Did she wipe away her makeup after sex? She should, it’s not good for the face to leave it on.

You don’t even know her name, you probably don’t know her numbers either. How are you going to call her, huh? Liar.

2-7

Not only is she smart, hot but also a badass. What?!

2-8

2-9

2-10

Now is not the time girls. Be professional even if she looks super cool walking in with her helmet and start taking off her clothes and ordering people around. Stay calm!!

2-11

This is getting intense…

You know at least you try and that’s all it matters.:(

2-16

She doesn’t need your caring dude. You can back off.

2-17

Didn’t she have a reputation around the hospital as a player, why wouldn’t you think she’s going there to meet people? Is he dumb or something.

2-18

Also, your hair looks ugly.

2-19

She rides solo, she rides horses, she rides girls, she rides everything but you. So, go away.

2-20

Anyway, let’s get back to business.

2-21

I hope this doesn’t get super angsty.

2-24

Ooh, who’s this? Also, that smile looks sinister.

2-25

Oh look is the girl with the red ribbons again. Who can she be? Hmmm.

Wrap Up

Wow, okay. Let me take a breath first. Let’s recount what we have in these 2 chapters. Facts, biology, blood, player, accidents, sex, and more sex. This story has everything and from what I got so far, story line seems typical and I kinda already know where this is going but I like the drawings (especially the eyes, the eyes are magnificent), but of course I have to read a few more chapters before I can make anymore judgement.

So for chapter 1, we started with the character introduction, with our main character Mel. She’s a cardio-thoracic surgeon (someone who specialize in surgical treatment for the hearts and lungs), she’s a lesbian (or maybe bi) and she’s a player. She sleeps around with her coworkers in the hospital and she doesn’t put any feeling into any relationships. No feelings, no pain comes after; that’s her motto. Also, it isn’t hard for her to find partner to sleep around with because she obviously is cool and hot. Well, how can you be cool and hot at the same time? Well, when you’re Mel, you can be both. I mean on the scale of 1 to 10 of how hot she is, she’s 100 below freezing.

Then we move on to chapter 2, we have more sex in this chapter too. She wakes up next to a hot girl she met a night ago in the bar. They slept together and then she leaves. She then gets into the emergency room to perform surgery on this Paul guy, unfortunately she wasn’t able to save him. She feels kinda guilty even though I’m sure she experiences this a lot in way before. Then, then, then we get to have a glimpse of this ribbon character at the end of the chapter again, which we probably know who it is. Obviously.

So of course, first few chapters there not always a lot of actions going on. The author has to do some introductions and set some settings for the story. But I do like the cliff hanger that Ratana puts in at the end of the chapter to hook the reader in just wanting to read the next chapter more, because now I’m curious about the ribbon girl, how she’s going to fit into this story and how she’s going to tame Mel.

Anyway, thanks for reading the first part review of Pulse. I will try my best, like with Fluttering Feelings, put up new review every Wednesday. If anyone has any suggestions or feedback, please leave a comment below. Holla!

Credits:

Author: Ratana Satis

Translation: Shompu

QC: Coco Roco

Edit: Alextasha

This post contains reference to links and pictures from one or more sources and has given credits where they are due. In no shapes or forms do I make any money out of these products. 

Leave a Reply

