Fluttering My Feelings

Welcome to Tuesday’s post from Pink Elephant. I’m your host, Eggy!

I’m excited to say that starting from today, on every Tuesday I’ll be reviewing a popular Korean manhwa called ‘Fluttering Feelings’. For those of you who don’t know about this manhwa (manga/comic) you may think, ‘gosh that name is cheesy’. It is but it has an alternative name if you don’t want to call it Fluttering Feelings, how about Exciting Feelings? Anyway, the manhwa is like the name itself, full of fluff and cheese and it will drown you but you’ll die happy. It’s so good that once you start reading it, you can’t put it down. I mean not put it down since you’re reading it from a computer, I mean like can’t let go of it. Like you can’t stop reading it- oh, whatever. The point is, it is good. (I’m going to cross my fingers and hope that this manhwa is going to end in a happy ending. Knowing Korean dramas and manhwas sometimes, I don’t think my heart will able to take anything angtsy from this.)

This manhwa has started a while back in 2014 and it’s still ongoing. I’m going to start from the beginning and work my way to the current chapter (which will take awhile). So for every post I’m going to review 3 chapters until I reach to the current chapter then I will review each chapter individually. I kind of start reading this late so I have to catch up but I ain’t even mad. If I had start reading from the beginning I would have to go through the agony of weeks and wait for updates. Not that I’m not better off now and I have a feeling this manhwa is going to go on for a while.

it has been 84 years gif

Before I start, I will like to pay tribute and give credit where it is due. First off, thank you Ssamba for blessing us with this great manhwa, which I’m sure we will spend countless of time reading and fangirling over the 2 characters. I also want to thank the translators for doing an awesome job in translating because without you guys, I wouldn’t know shit of what I’m reading.

Here is the link to the Facebook Page on Fluttering Feelings: https://www.facebook.com/FlutteringFeelings

Okay, let’s get started.

Oh, did I mention that this is a yuri manhwa? Well, it is.

Spoiler Alert!!

chapter 1

We’re open up with a scene of 2 girls waking up and getting ready for school, kind of typical start off for a manhwa (or manga). We’re quickly get introduce to our 2 main characters, Kim No-Rae and Baek Seol-A. I’m just going to jump forward a little and describe each of the girls. Soel-A is considered as a queen bee in the university. She got the look and the smart. She is sophisticated, gentle and charming. No-Rae is the opposite, she an ordinary and typical college student. She’s carefree, simple and fun to be with.

Norae running                                                seola pretty

Guess who is who?

Anyway, both girls are heading to class and No-Rae, in her determination to not be late for the first day of class, try to run and along the way knock herself into the beautiful goddess, Seol-A. This marks the beginning of their beautiful journey of romance. (Although I have to say, running into each other is another cliché plot but I’ll let it go since they both look so cute together. Gahhhh!!!)

norae fall into seola

Oh wait, but that’s not the end of the clicheness. You later find out that they both came back from a break and starting a new semester together. They’re both in the same year and both majoring in business administration. They’re both live right across from each other. Wow, what a coincidence. If they’re not meant to be then I don’t know what is.

To be honest, when I read the first chapter I’m a little hesitant. I mean so far the plot hasn’t been anything different than any other yuri plots or any romance plots for that matter. However, I know this story is supposed to be a fluffy and cute, so I’ll continue reading it. Also, it’s because I like the drawings. I think this is my first time reading a manhwa where the characters don’t look like dolls and have eyes with 10 million eye lashes surrounding them.

Moving on!

lollipop                                       lollipop2

Clearly Seol-A is a stalker and a predator. Look at how she’s trying to lure the innocent No-Rae with a lollipop.

chapter 2

Cleavages!

seola cleavage

Ssamba really knows how to open the chapter. This is an information filler chapter. No-Rae is narrating here and she spends more than half the chapter describing how awesome Seol-A is. (This girl got it bad and she doesn’t even know it.) So for the first 10 pages or so, No-Rae does a comparison on how different they are and boy are they different.

No-Rae, ordinary; Seol-A, extraordinary. No-Rae, girl with bad grades; Seol-A, girl with good grades. No-Rae, not so tall; Seol-A, tall. No-Rae, not fashionable; Seol-A, fashionable. No-Rae, not popular; Seol-A, popular. No-Rae, peasant; Seol-A, princess.

No, I’m kidding on the last one. She’s not a princess although she could be one though.

seola princess

After the introduction in the first chapter, Seol-A now takes notice of No-Rae and even asks her if she’s going to the party! Of course she will, how could she not when you look at her with such loving eyes.

seola smiles

~swoon~

Then the chapter ends with a dude flying back from somewhere. Borrrring!

chapter 3

So the girls are at the welcoming party, having fun and drinking beers. Well, it looks like No-Rae is having some fun and Seol-A just wants to get the hell out of there. And of course nobody notices this except No-Rae.

norae worries about seola

No-Rae then receive a phone call from her mom and she go out to talk. Seol-A freaks out when she see No-Rae leave the party and immediately texts to her. She is so afraid that she even go out to check, though she gives an excuse of going to the bathroom. Yeah, “bathroom”. Okay, Seol-A.

Then No-Rae and Seol-A come up with plan to ‘discreetly’ leave the party. Their plan works, how amazing, and then they leave. Just as they leave, the dude from chapter 2 comes. Oh thank goodness, I don’t want them to meet. Turn out the dude has a name, called Ji-Hwan but he’ll be called the ‘dude’ to me.

Back to the lovers, they walk home and enjoy a nice conversation. But of course, Seol-A isn’t able to control her hormones and starts to get pervy on No-Rae and even blame it on the alcohol. Okay, Seol-A, okay.

norae eating lollipop

Okay, I admit, I would look too.

The atmosphere is going great but then some shitty ex has to show up and ruin the moment. Okay, this part, I’m really questioning on how smart Seol-A is. She seems pretty smart if she get admit to a university with a scholarship but then why does she seems so dumb in here?

Well, she’s not dumb. She just cares too much on her image and believes that guys will never hurt her because they like her too much. Well her not ex, this guy is a psycho. Not only did he cheats on her (that a very stupid move), he tries to kill her (that an extra stupid move.)

Nooooo, my baby!

seola get choke

She’ll about to die! Somebody please saves her!

norae with bat

bang norae hits with bat

Oh look, it’s No-Rae. She has come to save the day!

norae kicking the psycho

Yeah! Kick his ass, No-Rae!

tender loving care

Don’t worry everyone, Seol-A is fine. Thank goodness. If something were to happen to my Seol-A baby, I don’t need No-Rae to beat the crap out of the psycho. I will go in the manhwa itself and beat the shit out of that pyscho-manic, uncivilized creature that pollutes the world with his breathing.

it's must be frightening

No shit, No-Rae. My baby was about to die! But then you come and save the day. Good job, buddy. You deserve this hug.

seola hugs norae

*Wrap-Up*

I start reading this because a lot of people seem to like it and have give a lot of positive comments and feedback. So I decide to give it a try, since I’m suffering from a yuri drought, this can quench my thirst.

Chapter 1 didn’t really impress me all that much when I first start reading it, except for the artworks (there are colors!). I didn’t really see anything special from this manhwa to the others. It seemed like a typical plot with a predictable story line and character traits but I told myself I had to give it a try. So I did. Wow! Chapter 2 didn’t impress me either. I’m reading it and I’m thinking, this girl Seol-A is ridiculously Mary-Sue. She had everything, well maybe except friends but other than that she seemed set for life. The chapter didn’t add any point for me when it spent more than half a chapter dedicated itself into describing Seol-A and the chapter even ended with a dude! Although, he kind of reminded me of Seol-A in a male version form. (Ooh, let’s not go there. I like my Seol-A with long hair.)

Then I reached chapter 3. Wow! (This is a good wow.) I almost got knock off my feet, Ssamba had throw me a curve ball. I did not expect what happen at the end. No, I wasn’t thinking about the psycho ex and the whole getting kill thing. That was actually kind of predictable. One of the girls had to get hurt, so the other could come out and saved the day. This event would usually get created by the author to give some action scenes to attract your attention and then to establish an event for the 2 characters to quickly bond to each other. This scene then would turn into a starting point of where the 2 characters would start to really get to know each other. I had expect this but I didn’t know it would be so early in the story. What also surprised me was that I kind of expecting the victim to be No-Rae and the savior to be Seol-A but that did not happen.

From the beginning, Ssamba had create an aura around Seol-A that she was calm, mature and smart. What Seol-A did at the end of chapter 3 was not smart. In fact, her actions made her seem naive and ignorant of the danger that she could put herself into. I had expect No-Rae to be the one that would get in trouble because of her carefree and easy attitude but nope, I was wrong. And I was glad that I was wrong. If chapter 3 had gone in a direction that I had predict, I wouldn’t be interested in the story as I am now.

This manhwa is worth looking into it and I’m glad that I did, otherwise I wouldn’t even be reviewing it.

credits

This post contains reference to links and pictures from one or more sources and has given credits where they are due. In no shapes or forms do I make any money out of these products.

One thought on “Fluttering My Feelings

  1. Pingback: Fluttering My Feelings (Part 3) | The pink Elephant

Leave a Reply

