What’s Better than Kimchi Fried Rice on a Friday Night?

Hiya! Today is Friday and this is Pink Elephant’s Friday Post. I am your host, Egg Tart. Welcome!

I love Friday and you guys probably do, too. Even though Friday is a work day, that you have to wake up early to go to work or school, spend 8 hours in a shithole to work on things you probably don’t care and pretend to be nice and social even though you don’t a give shit about anyone around you. Still, you’re excited when Friday comes because you know Saturday is just right around the corner.

I don’t know about you guys but I love to sleep late on Saturday. Better yet, I like to sleep in the whole day. No, I won’t feel sad that my Saturday is wasted. No, I don’t care about going to places, meeting people and doing stuffs. That’s sound like a lot of works. And you know what I do with works? I save them for work days.

But of course, that’s not what I’m going to talk about today. Today, I’m actually going to teach you guys how to make Kimchi Fried Rice. Well, I won’t say teach, it’s not like I know anything and is not like is my recipe either. I learned this recipe through a popular Korean cooking channel on Youtube, Maangchi. She a very funny and cute lady and really know her stuffs on Korean food.

Here is the link to her Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/Maangchi

Here is the link to her Kimchi Fried Rice video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lf44Fk7H24s

The recipe here is just a basic version of Kimchi Fried Rice, of course there will be other fancy stuffs you can add in if you want to; ham, corn, shrimp, ect.

But right now, let’s just start with something easy.

Ingredients:

– 1 cup of Kimchi and 1/2 cup of Kimchi juice

– 2 cups of rice

– 1 teaspoon vegetable oil

– 2 tablespoons Hot pepper paste/ Sriracha Hot Sauce

– Sesame oil (optional)

– Scallion (optional)

– Dried seaweed (optional)

– Fried eggs (optional, although strongly recommended)

gochujang  kimchi  rice

Steps:

1. Turn on your stove to medium-high heat. You can use a skillet if it’s big enough or use a saucepan. Put in 1 teaspoon of vegetable oil.

2. Add in your kimchi. If your kimchi is already in bite size pieces, that’s good. If it’s not, cut it into pieces. Stir the kimchi around for a minute.

3. Now add in your rice. Then add in your kimchi juice and a bit of water so the rice won’t stick on the bottom.

4. Stir it around for a minute then add in Gochujang, the hot pepper paste, to however spicy you want. (Usually this dish will asks to add in hot pepper paste, which you can get from any Korean store, but if you can’t get it or like something else Sriracha sauce is good too.)

5. Turn off the heat, mix it around and you’re done!

kimchi 1

fried rice

It’s that easy.

If you want to, you can add in the sesame oil on top of the rice but this is just to make the rice smell good. It doesn’t necessarily contribute any taste to the rice. If you want you can also add in scallion or dried seaweed, which you can get at any Asian stores.

Finally, ultimately, if you really want to, cook some fried eggs and eat them with the rice. I always eat my kimchi fried rice with fried egg. I think it’s the best combination that can be pair up.

I hope you’ll have a fun time cooking this because I have a fun time eating it. Though I think I put a little too much pepper paste in mine, shit I need some water.

Thanks for reading this post but before I let you go, of course I have to show what is Friday’s Song of the Week. Going along with the Korean food, I’ll have to show a Korean song. Today song is called ‘Moto’ by BoA. The first Kpop music video I ever watch (well technically it’s after Brand New Beat but that’s not a Korean song but it’s BoA). So much jiang in a video, I can’t even.

This post contains reference to links and pictures from one or more sources and has given credits where they are due. In no shapes or forms do I make any money out of these products.

Leave a Reply

