What Is Love?

4351548677_6994c57756_b

Baby don’t hurt me, don’t hurt me, no more…

Hey, hey, hey.

Welcome back to the third post! Before we get started with today topic, I want to get a little sidetrack.

I do not like WINTER. You know something is important if it gets underline.

I was born in the summer, so I’m a summer baby.  Currently on the East Coast, Mother Nature is non-relenting with its cold air, icy wind and abundance snowfall. I cannot wait until the summer or at least until the weather gets warmer.

Sorry for the rant, but I just want to let that out. Okay, let’s get back to today topic. I’m going to talk about love today as Valentine is slowly creeping up.

Soooo…who is excited for Valentine’s Day and who is dreading it?

Or let me ask a different question. How many of you or someone you know had already went and buy or thinking of getting something for Valentine’s Day?

Why do we waste money on this particular day? It is to show our partner that we care so we have to spend money on buying them gifts. If we don’t give them gifts, does that mean we don’t love them? Why can’t we celebrate Valentine with just saying ‘I love you’ or run some errands for them? Why are we buying things that don’t necessarily have special ‘values’? Or is it because we tie love to material and monetary things and in order for us to feel love we have to visibility and tangibly receive something.

Can we not get through Valentine without spending money? We can, but we don’t want to. We will feel empty inside when we don’t receive something from someone we love on an expected day where we suppose. Just like Christmas, imagine waking up on Christmas day and going down to your living room to look for presents when you realize that Santa decides to take a day off.

No present for you.

So, why do we spend so much money on Valentine’s Day? Easy, it is human nature to buy things. To have a day for us where we can buy things for the ones we love, is a perfect excuse we need.

Take my money

Fun fact: Americans spend around 1 billion dollars every year on greeting cards, the second highest spending of greeting cards just after Christmas. We also spend about 35 million dollars on heart chocolate and over 220 million roses are produce just for this special day. If that’s not enough, we also splurge on expensive purchase such as jewelries which is over 4 billion dollars. Over all, we spend almost 20 billion dollars on Valentine’s Day. (History)

Like goddam, that a shit load of money to be spending on just one day. Imagine all the chocolate we’re consuming, probably shitting brick by the time you finish.

So the term, money can’t buy love is false. Money can definitely buy love and a lot of it, too.

And then you may come across the ‘special’ type of people where they believe love is not based on money. Those people, you have to beware.

It’s those people that you know you cannot and will not be able to satisfy with just money and material things, if you mess shit up. With materialistic lover you can buy your way out of trouble with gifts and money. With people who only focus on love, if you mess up, well good luck. If it is something small, they may probably forgive you but…they will not forget. If it is something big, you could be moving mountains and they still have to think about it.

If is for me, I will choose someone who puts more value on money, less hassle and headache for me if I decide to fuck things up. But then once in a while I would like to throw in some real love just to mess my life around.

There is this popular saying by a woman who was on a dating show in China, she said “…I would rather cry in a BMW than to laugh on a bike.”

Wow.

She would rather be with someone who she doesn’t really like and be miserable in a BMW than to be with someone she loves while riding on a bicycle. This woman have her priorities straight.

I would rather cry in a BMW too if I have to choose. At least in BMW, I can relax and enjoy the A/C and listen to my music. You can’t do that on the bike. Maybe that’s what the woman was thinking too when she said that. That is one smart woman.

Well, whatever you prefer, to cry or to laugh, at the end of the day love is a fuck up piece of shit that nobody understands. We spend so many years on discovering and researching and learning about love and to this day we still think buying a box of heart-shaped chocolate will brings a smile to our lover’s face; we’re heading toward the right direction.

Don’t get me wrong, I celebrate Valentine’s Day. I buy one of those heart candies in the box every year on Valentine’s Day.  They’re not bad except they’re filled with sugar, which is what I need to get through the day.

Anyway, thanks for tuning in to my third post. Like before, please follow me on Facebook and Twitter and show your support and love so we can start building our own little army of Asian Gay. You can head over to my ask.fm page if you have a question you want to ask me or if you need any advice (though I can’t guaranteed my advice will help you, actually I feel like I will only worsen your situation, but ask anyway).

Stay tune for my next Friday’s post.

Thank youuuuuu!

This post contains reference to links and pictures from one or more sources and has given credits where they are due. In no shapes or forms do I make any money out of these products.

Leave a Reply

